Skip to content

I AM A WOMAN

June 20, 2014

I am not just a woman, I am not only a woman, I am a unique being, specially made for transformation.In these days when women face discrimination and prejudice, yet we conquer them all, I am convinced that womanhood is a pride!

Right from childhood our society place certain roles on the genders. The boys are exposed to tasking sports like football and taught to take care of their ‘weaker vessels’ (their mother and sisters) while the girls are exposed to toys (mostly dolls) and taught to be careful and vulnerable. At a later stage in life the girl child becomes a woman as she goes through her menstrual circle, pregnancy, child birth and then child rearing…all these stages are characterized by pains. when the woman has reared her child to adulthood and he becomes successful, he becomes the pride of his father but when he/ she becomes a deviant, he becomes the mothers child and the woman is blamed and accused of failing in her duties as a mother. This places superiority on the male gender.

These same women who go through lots of difficulties at home still face even greater ones at their working places, educational and religious spheres. In the media, words like cameraman, chairman, manpower are used when words like camera operator, chairperson, workers’ could have been used instead. Female journalists are given soft sell topics like fashion and entertainment while men deal with tougher issues like politics and business. Women are also not well represented in government.. These are just to mention but a few. Margaret Sanger says, ”a woman must not accept, she must challenge, she must not be awed by that which was built up around her, she must reverence that woman in her which struggles for expression”. I am not afraid of the storms becomes I have confidence in me!.

Diane Mariechild says, ”a woman is the full circle, within her is the power to create, nurture and transform”. I AM A WOMAN!. I refuse to be intimidated!. I refuse to be involved in any abusive relationship. I refuse to lose my voice in the crowd. I am an empowered woman. I possess the beauty of a woman and the strength of a man!

I am a woman of substance, a jewel of inestimable value. I know my worth and what I deserve. ‘What a man can do I can do even better’. I was made  to assist my male counterparts coz they definitely cannot do without me. I am not frail but strong and courageous!. I am responsible, patient and hardworking. Wisdom rings a bell in my heart and I speak wisdom. I am a woman and my beauty radiates from within. I AM NOT AFRAID OF BEING A WOMAN FOR I WAS BORN TO DO THIS. I am proudly a woman!. How about you???.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

