Skip to content

OUR MIRRORS AND OURSELVES

June 21, 2014

Sometimes in life we come across people who possess qualities that we love to emulate either in our spiritual, career, educational lives and other spheres of life. These peoples lives affect us in such a way that we become better people. We often do not recognize their worth in our lives until we have noticed our own personal growth and progress. We call these people our ROLE MODELS- they are our mirrors.

A model is a praiseworthy example to be copied. A Role Model is a mentor- a wise and trusted councilor or teacher. Simply put, a role model is someone whose behavior is imitated by others. Barry Deutsech says, ”my mother once told me, when you have to make a decision, imagine the person you want to become someday, what would that person do?”. Our role models are persons we look up to. They are called ‘Role Models’ for a reason…they never fail to inspire those who aspire to be like them.

Popular golfer, Tiger Woods says, ”my dad was my best friend and greatest role model. He was an amazing dad, coach, mentor, soldier, husband and friend”. Growing up in a family of ten, comprising of myself, parents and siblings, I grew up seeing my family members as my role models and they are still the most amazing role models I have ever had. I have always admired my  mother’s resourcefulness, intelligence, loyalty, confidence and cheerfulness and my father’s patience, humility, generosity and gentleness. I also emulate the good lifestyles of my siblings. I have grown to love and copy the exemplary lives of these people and it has proven to be a sure way to success for me.

As an adult, I have found out that the best thing about getting older is finding people to mentor!. Finding people I can encourage with my testimonies to achieve their goals. Whether we accept it or not, there are people out there who look up to us. These people just need a line or a sentence of your testimony to believe they can also make it so do not keep your testimony away from people. Role models like every other persons are imperfect. Therefore, it is wise to do your best, accept your mistakes so you can earn the trust and respect of those who believe in you.

I have so many people I admire but I will be discussing two women I aspire to be like in the subsequent paragraphs- they are JOYCE MEYER of Joyce Meyer Ministries and NNEKA ISAAC MOSES, the co-presenter of Goge Africa.

JOYCE MEYER-She is a charismatic bible teacher, author and speaker, married to Dave Meyer. Their marriage is blessed with four grown children. Despite Joyce’s challenges as a child who was regularly abused sexually by her father, she still conquered!. Each time I read her books or hear her speak, I see in her a woman who loves God, recognizes the fact that she cannot do without Him and attributes all her successes to Him. I see in her a woman God is using to change the world. That is the kind of woman I love to be!.

NNEKA ISAAC MOSES- She is a graduate of English and Literary studies, University of Lagos. The co-presenter of Goge Africa. She presents the program with her husband. Nneka is a reputable fashion designer, a charming T.V Presenter who thrills her viewers with her gap- toothed smile. She is also a successful film producer and actress. In 2009, she was awarded the best T.V presenter of the year. I admire this lady’s passion and zeal to make an impact. She is doing a great job at projecting the image of Africa through Goge Africa. She is creative and intelligent. She is the kind of woman I love to become!.

ROLE MODELS are like mirrors showing us who we are, who we should be and helping us wipe out the ugly spots that could hinder us from getting to our destinations. You must have a Role Model and you must be one!.  200px-Joyce_meyer_at_hillsong_conference_kiev_2007_Oct04my mirrors NNEKA ISAAC MOSES and her husband, Isaac Moses.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

